Chattanooga Public Library
The Public Library
Top Navigation

A to Z LISTING/ Switch to   Subject Categories

A
B
C
DE
FG
H
I
JKL
M
N
OP
Q
R
S
T
UV
W
XYZ

"Our Mission: To excite the community about the many resources and experiences they'll discover in books and beyond"

Databases At The Public Library

General instructions:

Unless otherwise noted in the description of the database, you must enter your library card number when using our resources from outside the library. Some learning resources require registration. Some may only be accessed inside library buildings. Databases created by our staff are open to all from anywhere and several others require a different password. Please check with a librarian or call the reference desk at 423-757-5310, if you need passwords or experience any other problems.

Mutiple Databases

Overview - How to Search Our Databases


Multiple Databases
Advanced Search
Instructions

Quick Search Library Catalog for:
Search by:

By Database Brand Groups

A

PowerSearch Academic OneFile 1980-
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

PowerSearch Agriculture Collection
Comprised of nearly 200 titles, researchers will have access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.

NewsBankAmerica's GenealogyBank from NewsBank
Provides Web-based access to millions of the United States' core genealogical records from 1652 to the present day. Through basic name search and advanced search options, genealogists can easily find and browse digital images of American historical genealogies, obituaries, marriage notices, birth announcements, casualty lists, military and government documents and other essential primary sources. It also provides the full text of modern U.S. newspaper obituaries and enhanced Social Security Death Index (SSDI) records. Significantly, each of America's GenealogyBank's five historical or modern collections is updated with new content on a daily, weekly or monthly basis.

NewsBank America's News Magazines
The electronic editions of valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.

EHISAncestry Library Edition
Provides a wide range of information of interest to genealogists including U.S. and UK census records, passenger lists, birth, death, marriage and military records, historical maps, Ancestry World Tree and more. Available only on library workstations.

Auto Repair Service Center
The Auto Repair Reference Center is a full text database containing information on Repair procedures, service bulletins, service recalls, wiring diagrams, labor and quick tips for automobiles produced between 1945-2004.

<Back to Top

B

EHIS BIR Entertainment
This database provides information on about 450,000 music titles and over 200,000 DVD/video titles with more being added regularly. With BIR Entertainment, you can find information about music or videos featuring a favorite artist or performer, or specific genre.

EHIS Book Index With Reviews
This database provides information and sample pages, if available, from over 5 million book titles.

Books & Authors
Readers can use Books & Authors to enhance the experience of the book they are reading; dig deeper into its themes and origins; or learn how the author's life and times contributed to the work.

PowerSearch Business Economics and Theory
This collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find more than 150 full-text journals to support their research.

EHIS Business Source Premier
As the world’s largest full text business database, Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications, the oldest dating back as far as 1922.

BYKI
Available for learning over 70 languages, library patrons are able to access the Byki Online system from inside or outside of the library, via the web browser on Windows and Mac computers.  Users will have a variety of high quality learning options that build listening, reading, speaking, and writing skills. In addition, Byki includes Advanced Pronunciation Analysis (Internet Explorer only). Individual progress tracking and assessment tests help identify areas for improvement. To read more about it see, Introduction to BYKI.

<Back to Top

C

Chattanooga Associations - temporary PDF file available while we convert to a new database.
Clubs, charitable and non-profit organizations, professional and business fraternities or associations, and churches. It is compiled by the staff of the library and is free to all visitors.

Chattanooga Photo Database
A project currently underway which will eventually digitize all our photo collections in a searchable database online. There are 4,800 photos available at this time. It is compiled by the staff of the library and is free to all visitors.

PowerSearchComputer Database 1980 -
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

PowerSearch Communications and Mass Media Collection
From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field.

PowerSearch Criminal Justice Collection
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to 150 journals.

PowerSearch Culinary Arts Collection
The Culinary Arts collection includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

EHISPowerSearchCustom Newspapers
Search a collection of more then 650 newspapers, local, national and international, including Chattanooga Times-Free Press, Knoxville News-Sentinel, The Nashville Tennessean, and more.

<Back to Top

D, E

PowerSearch Diversity Studies Collection
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.

PowerSearch Educators 200
Perfect for educating future teachers and administrators, this set covers the latest technologies, developments, instruction and coaching breakthroughs.

PowerSearch Educator's Reference Complete 1980 - current
A selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.

PowerSearch Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Covering environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes nearly 200 journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

Expanded Academic ASAP 1980 -
Included in Academic OneFile.

<Back to Top

F, G

PowerSearch Fine Arts and Music Collection
With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

Fold3 (Formerly Footnote)
The Fold3 collections feature documents and historic newspapers, most never before available on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, U.S. Presidents, naturalizations, and much more.

PowerSearchGale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries. See a descriptive list of titles in this collection.

PowerSearch Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection
A collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. A fertile and growing collection, this collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.

EHISPowerSearch General Business File ASAP 1980 - Jun 2005
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.

EHISPowerSearch General Reference Center Gold 1980 -
Now included in General OneFile

General Science Collection
Millions of articles from over 1,600 magazines, journals and reference materials on all aspects of the sciences.

EHISPowerSearch General OneFile 1980 -
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.

EHIS GreenFile
A research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.

<Back to Top

H

EHISPowerSearchHealth and Wellness Resource Center 1980 -
Use this Resource Center to find information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, and more. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

PowerSearchHealth Reference Center Academic 1980 -
Now included in Health and Wellness Resource Center.

EHISHeritageQuest Online
Combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI Genealogy & Local History collection. This online database includes the PERiodical Source Index and Revolutionary War files.

EHIS Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
The database provides extensive information on more than 140 topics ranging from amateur astronomy, antiques, cake decorating, camping and comic books to fantasy sports, hunting, jewelry making, macramé, pottery and puppetry. Also included are remote controlled vehicles, rock climbing, rug hooking, scuba diving, sports memorabilia, tatting, trains & railways, woodworking and much more.

PowerSearch Home Improvement Collection
Even the smallest home improvement project can be daunting: with this collection of nearly 100 home improvement focused titles, hobbyists and professional carpenters alike will immediately put their projects on a more solid foundation.

EHIS Home Improvement Reference Center
A comprehensive resource for home improvement assistance, including: maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating home & garden, etc. Contains 27 major reference works in full text with more than 10,000 images and videos.

PowerSearch Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection
With current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field.

<Back to Top

I

PowerSearch Information Science & Library Issues Collection
Comprised of content from nearly 100 leading industry journals, this collection provides current and accurate information for the information professional.

PowerSearch Insurance and Liability Collection
This collection, comprised of nearly 40 journals, takes a broad view of the insurance and liability industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.

EHISPowerSearchInforme 1994 -
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

<Back to Top

J, K, L

EHISPowerSearchJunior Edition 2002 -
This periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text) for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

EHIS Kid's InfoBits
Kids InfoBits is designed especially for students in kindergarten through grade five. It features an engaging, developmentally appropriate graphic interface, premier reference content and the best magazines for elementary students.

LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Registration is free for library members and visitors.

Lexis-Nexis Library Express
Accesses over 9,500 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and foreign-language sources. The Company Dossier module to retrieves detailed company information and financial performance measures and identifies and compares companies matching specific criteria.

EHISLiterature Resource Center - LRC
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline, combining Gale Group's core literary databases, such as Scribner Writers Series and The Twayne Authors Series, in a single online service covering more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.

<Back to Top

M

EHIS MasterFILE Premier
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,100 general reference publications dating as far back as 1975. MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 650 full text reference books, 84,074 biographies, 86,135 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags.

PowerSearchMilitary & Intelligence Database
Over 10 million articles (80% full-text) from more than 500 titles and basic reference materials. The content in this database is also part of InfoTrac One File.

N

EHIS National Newspaper Index 1977 -
National Newspaper Index provides quick access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.

NewEnglandAncestors.org
With over 110 million names in 2,400 databases, NewEnglandAncestors.org is the primary Internet resource for New England genealogy. The site also includes databases for New York, other areas of the United States, Canada, and Europe. Available only on library workstations.

EHISNovelist
NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 125,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What We’re Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists. For school media specialists and teachers there are Picture Book Extenders and articles on Teaching with Fiction.

EHIS Novelist K-8
A fantastic resource for teachers, parents, and students alike. This junior version of Novelist, intended for students from kindergarten to grade 8, features detailed subject headings as well as booklists by theme and grade level.

PowerSearch Nursing and Allied Health Collection
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection which includes nearly 400 titles.

<Back to Top

O, P

Obituaries 1897-2003
Index to all obituaries published in the Chattanooga Times, News Free Press, and Chattanooga Times-Free Press. It is compiled by the staff of the library and is free to all visitors.

Chattanooga Photo Database
A project currently underway which will eventually digitize all our photo collections in a searchable database online. There are 5,950 photos available at this time. Since the transition to the new library software in early 2011, only thumbnail versions of the photos are available online; but full size prints can still be ordered. It is compiled by the staff of the library and is free to all visitors. Call the Local History department for an update of this transition.

Points of View
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).

PowerSearch Pop Culture Collection
This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

PowerSearch Popular Magazines
Popular Magazines includes 1000 of the most searched magazines. All the titles were selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons. This database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles recommended such as Consumer Reports, Time, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Vanity Fair, US News and World Report, Vogue, Fortune, Business Week, National Review, Cosmopolitan, and NPR.

PowerSearchProfessional Collection (for educators)
Articles from more than 300 full-text periodicals covering a variety of topics for teachers/educators, including: health and fitness, school law, drug and alcohol abuse, learning disabilities, sports, arts and humanities, social sciences, and psychology.

PowerSearch Psychology Collection
This set explores what makes people "tick" from childhood to death. This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time. Your library's users will have instant access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

<Back to Top

R

Reference USA
An infoGroup database containing detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. Businesses, 89 Million U.S. Residents, 855k Physicians and Dentists, 1.5 Million Canadian businesses and 12 Million Canadian households.

EHISRegional Business News
Incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

PowerSearchReligion & Philosophy Database
Articles from more than 250 magazines and Journals on religion, philosophy, archaeology, and anthropolog, and covers the impact of religion on culture. Many articles are full-text. The content in this database is also part of InfoTrac Onefile.

<Back to Top

S

Sanborn Maps 1885-1955
Detailed property and land-use records. No maps are consulted more in public libraries than Sanborn fire insurance maps. The Tennessee collection includes cities and towns throughout the state, with Chattanooga maps dating from 1885 to 1955. Available on computers at all library branches in our system.

Scribner Writers Series
Now included in the Literature Resource Center

PowerSearch Small Business Collection
Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories.

PowerSearchSouthern Life
Contains nearly 5 million full-text articles on topics that relate directly to Southern living, both past and present, including people, places, historical events and more.

Student Edition
Designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

<Back to Top

T

NewsBankTennessee Newspaper Collection
The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Paid ads are excluded.

Tennessee Virtual Archive
TeVA provides a searchable array of Tennessee history and culture from historical records, photographs, documents, maps, postcards, film, audio and other original materials of enduring value.

Tennessee's Landmark Documents
From King George’s Proclamation of 1763 to the earliest purchase of land from Native Americans to the first Constitutions of the State of Tennessee, these are among the most important records from our past.

The TumbleBooks Library
The TumbleBookLibrary is a collection of animated, talking picture stories created from existing books which we have licensed from the publishers and converted to the TumbleBook format. This service includes steaming audio and animation (viewed over your Internet connection) as well as, with the installation of the free TumblePad software, the downloadable file to play later.

The Twayne Authors Series
Now included in Literature Resource Center .

<Back to Top

U, V

PowerSearch US History Collection
This collection of over 40 journals provides balanced coverage of the current thought and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field; useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher.

PowerSearch Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office). See a descriptive list of titles in this collection. Click the icons for an aggregator that covers this database or the title to open this single resource.

PowerSearch Vocations, Careers & Technical Education Collection
Providing content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Volunteer Voices
Volunteer Voices is Tennessee's statewide digitization program involving the state's archives, libraries, repositories, historic homes and museums.

<Back to Top

W

PowerSearch War & Terrorism Collection
A definitive collection for students of history, social science and current events, providing insight into conflicts and their multiple causes. References include 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

What Do I Read Next?
Replaced by Book and Authors.

World Book Online
The World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes World Book Encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites. Click the title to view a jump-off page highlghting nine different search tools for kids, adults, and schools. Provided through Tennessee Electronic Library.

PowerSearch World History Collection
This collection of over 40 journals provides balanced coverage of the current thought and events in World History, as well as scholarly work useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher.

World Vital Records by FamilyLink-
Provides access to over 4.2 billion names from family history records collections worldwide, including:

  • Over 158 million digitized images, including US and UK Censuses
  • Over 300 million names from birth, marriage and death records
  • Over 75 million names from military records
  • Over 100 million pages of newspapers, 1739 to present
  • One of world's largest historical map collections with 1.5 million maps
  • More than 8,000 high school, college and military yearbooks
  • More than 30 million tombstone photos

<Back to Top

 

Chattanooga Public Library
Chattanooga, Tennessee
© 2010