Chattanooga-Hamilton County Bicentennial Library Skip Navigation

Library logo

"Whatever the cost of our libraries, the price is cheap compared to that of an ignorant nation."

- Walter Cronkite

navigation Account Information Business Page Reading Room Kids Catalog On Demand books, CDs and movies Homepage
Search Catalog
Search Catalog & Magazine Articles
Databases
Use the Library
Locations

Subject Areas

Programs
Genealogy
Government

Pathfinders

Additional Services

About the Library

Support the Library
Contact Us
Sitemap
Listed by Subject
Auto Reference Center
Children's Resources
EbscoHost Research Database
Local Information
Photo Database
Practice Tests - Learning Express
Rosetta Stone
Tennessee Electronic Library
How To Find It With a Call Number
Checking Out Books
On Demand/Rental
Computers
Library Cards
Interlibrary Loan Info
Information by Mail & Fax
Please Take Our SURVEY
Downtown
Eastgate
Northgate
Ooltewah-Collegedale
South Chattanooga
Creative Discovery Museum
Business,
Science & Technology

Children's
Fine Arts
Local History
Reference
Calendar of Events
Anime
Children's Programs
Cinema @ the Library
Genealogy Classes
Please Take Our SURVEY
City of Chattanooga
Hamilton County
Tennessee
U.S Government
U.S. Passports
Multimedia Lists
Book Lists
Helpful Websites
Computers
Notary Service
Passports
Meeting Rooms
Information by Mail & Fax
Please Take Our SURVEY
Administration
Calendar of Events
Contact Us
Employment
FAQ
Hours
Library Policies
Please Take Our SURVEY
Used Book Sales
Friends of the Library
Gifts & Donations
Memorial Books
Endowment Fund
Please Take Our SURVEY
Calendar of Events Please Take Our Survey! Database Spotlight

Databases:

The library has several databases with information on Asthma and Allergies

General Reference Center Gold, 1980 -
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

Tennessee Electronic Library - General Reference Center Gold: Allergies

Tennessee Electronic Library - General Reference Center Gold: Asthma

MasterFILE Premier
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,100 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 650 full text reference books, 84,074 biographies, 86,135 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily but is available to current library card holders only.

Instructions: Follow the link below to EbscoHost, enter your library card number, type either Allergies or Asthma into the FIND box, then click Enter to begin your search..

MasterFILE Premier

InfoTrac OneFile 1980 -
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

InfoTrac OneFile: Allergies

InfoTrac OneFiler: Asthma

Websites:

Looking for answers about Allergies or Asthma? Check out these websites for the latest information.

www.allallergy.net - All Allergy is a gateway to all asthma, allergy and intolerance information on the web

medlineplus.gov - MedlinePlus is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine

www.foodallergy.org - The Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network (FAAN) was established in 1991. FAAN's membership now stands at close to 30,000 worldwide and includes families, dietitians, nurses, physicians, school staff, representatives from government agencies, and the food and pharmaceutical industries. FAAN serves as the communication link between the patient and others

www.mayoclinic.com - Find information on allergies, allergy symptoms and allergy relief.

www3.niaid.nih.gov - The National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) conducts and supports basic and applied research to better understand, treat, and ultimately prevent infectious, immunologic, and allergic diseases. For more than 50 years, NIAID research has led to new therapies, vaccines, diagnostic tests, and other technologies that have improved the health of millions of people in the United States and around the world

www.aafa.org - The Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA) is considered to be one of the most reliable sources of health information -- AAFA is a member of National Health Council and has a 3-star quality rating from Charity Navigator, a nonprofit watchdog.

www.lungusa.org - The mission of the American Lung Association® is to prevent lung disease and promote lung health. The American Lung Association® is the oldest voluntary health organization in the United States, with a National Office and constituent and affiliate associations around the country

Books:

The library has many books on the subject of Allergies and Asthma. The following is only a small sample.

Children's Allergies and Asthma book jacket

What your doctor may not tell you about children's Allergies and Asthma:
Simple Steps to Help Stop Attacks and Improve Your Child's Health

Ehrlich, Paul. 2006
618.9297 Ehr

In this timely and informative book, two pediatric allergy specialists
reveal simple steps that parents can take to stop attacks and improve
their child's health.





Action Plan For Allergies book jacket

Action plan for allergies

Briner, William, 2007
616.9706 Bri

"This book shows you how to take control of your health, boost your energy, and reduce or eliminate the need for medication with the latest scientific research and proven exercise plans. Because fitness level, diet, environment, and medication - such as albuterol, loratadine, diphenhydramine, and salmeterol - affect allergies, Action Plan for Allergies allows you to tailor the exercise programs to your individual needs. Including information on creating an allergen-free environment, as well as techniques for desensitization and increasing tolerance, Action Plan for Allergies is a comprehensive resource for managing your symptoms and leading a freer, healthier life."--BOOK JACKET.


Yoga Rx book jacket

Yoga Rx : a step-by-step program to promote health, Wellness, and Healing for Common Ailments

Payne, Larry. 2002
613.7046 Pay

East meets West as an assistant dean at the UCLA School of Medicine and a celebrity Yoga instructor show how to use ancient yoga postures for treating dozens of common ailments. 300 photos throughout.

 


Food Allergies book jacket

Food allergies : the complete guide to understanding and Relieving Your Food Allergies

Walsh, William E.
616.975 Wal

Millions of people every year suffer from migraine headaches, persistent coughs, sore throats, eczema, abdominal discomfort, tiredness and irritability, and don't realize that it's coming from the food they eat. Many people are allergic to types of food, and to the chemicals that are in them. This book helps people to discover the foods that have been afflicting them, learn how some foods react to the body in different people, and discover how to avoid troublesome foods at the store, eating out, and dining at home.


Inflammation Cure book jacket

The Inflammation Cure: How to combat the hidden factor behind heart disease, arthritis, asthma, diabetes, alzheimer's disease, osteoporoisi, and other diseases of aging.

Meggs, William Joel. 2004
616.0473 Meg
2) The Harvard Medical School guide to taking control of asthma
Fanta, Christopher H 2003
616.238 Fan

""In addition to explaining inflammation's causes and its role in various diseases, the author offers advice--'an antiinflammation game plan'--on how to maintain 'inflammation balance' and feel better."--"The New York Times
In clear, everyday language, William Meggs, M.D., explains what causes inflammation, its relationship to disease in the body, and what steps readers can take to minimize their risk.


Asthma book jacket

Asthma

Lennard-Brown, Sarah 2003
Y 616.238 Len

Whether researching a paper or looking for guidance, preteens and teens will find answers to critical health questions here. These guides present pro and con perspectives punctuated by case studies of real-life situations and solutions. Lists of books and websites direct readers to additional information.

 


Living a Healthy Life book jacket

Living a healthy life with chronic conditions : Self-Management of Heart Disease, Arthritis, Diabetes, Asthma, Bronchitis, Emphysema, and Others

362.196 Liv 2000

Drawing on input from people with long-term ailments, this book points the way to achieving the best possible life under the circumstances.

 

 


My House Is Killing Me book jacket

My house is killing me! : the home guide for families with allergies and asthma

May, Jeffrey C. 2001
616.97 May

Advocating a take charge attitude, the head of a company that conducts indoor air quality surveys discusses the health onslaughts of unseen home invaders and makes preventative care recommendations for the environment where we spend most of our lives. May secondarily addresses outdoor and workplace air quality issues. Includes a preface by a Johns Hopkins U. public health educator, photos of the aliens and their preferred lairs, a glossary of terms, and a resource guide for homeowners and professionals. c. Book News Inc.


More Books:

To find more books on Allergies and Asthma, go to the Library Catalog, Keyword Search: Allergies or Asthma or Subjects Search: Allergies or Asthma


Return to top of page
Home | Kid's Catalog | Reading Room | Business Page | Your Account
Search+ | Library Catalog | Databases | Use the Library
Government Documents | Subject Areas | Pathfinders | Locations | Programs
Services | About the Library | Genealogy | Support the Library
Contact Us | Sitemap

Bobby WorldWide Approved 508
This page is Bobby Approved

Chattanooga-Hamilton County Bicentennial Library
Chattanooga, Tennessee
© 2007