Chattanooga-Hamilton County Bicentennial Library Skip Navigation

Library logo

"Whatever the cost of our libraries, the price is cheap compared to that of an ignorant nation."

- Walter Cronkite

navigation Account Information Business Page Reading Room Kids Catalog On Demand books, CDs and movies Homepage
Search Catalog
Search Catalog & Magazine Articles
Databases
Use the Library
Locations

Subject Areas

Programs
Genealogy
Government

Pathfinders

Additional Services

About the Library

Support the Library
Contact Us
Sitemap
Listed by Subject
Auto Reference Center
Children's Resources
EbscoHost Research Database
Local Information
Photo Database
Practice Tests - Learning Express
Rosetta Stone
Tennessee Electronic Library
How To Find It With a Call Number
Checking Out Books
On Demand/Rental
Computers
Library Cards
Interlibrary Loan Info
Information by Mail & Fax
Please Take Our SURVEY
Downtown
Eastgate
Northgate
Ooltewah-Collegedale
South Chattanooga
Creative Discovery Museum
Business,
Science & Technology

Children's
Fine Arts
Local History
Reference
Calendar of Events
Anime
Children's Programs
Cinema @ the Library
Genealogy Classes
Please Take Our SURVEY
City of Chattanooga
Hamilton County
Tennessee
U.S Government
U.S. Passports
Multimedia Lists
Book Lists
Helpful Websites
Computers
Notary Service
Passports
Meeting Rooms
Information by Mail & Fax
Please Take Our SURVEY
Administration
Calendar of Events
Contact Us
Employment
FAQ
Hours
Library Policies
Please Take Our SURVEY
Used Book Sales
Friends of the Library
Gifts & Donations
Memorial Books
Endowment Fund
Please Take Our SURVEY
Calendar of Events Please Take Our Survey! Database Spotlight


Endangered Species
Man must feel the earth to know himself and recognize his values.... God made life simple. It is man who complicates it.

~Charles A. Lindbergh, Reader's Digest, July 1972

 

 

Websites:

Carl Hiaasen’s Official Web Site-Hoot: http://www.carlhiaasen.com/books/hoot.html

Chattanooga Nature Center: http://chattanooganaturecenter.org/

National Wildlife Federation-Hoot: http://www.nwf.org/nationalwildlifeweek/hoot.cfm

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service: http://www.fws.gov/endangered/

Kid's Planet Especies: http://www.kidsplanet.org/factsheets/map.html

American Museum on Natural History: http://www.amnh.org/nationalcenter/Endangered/index.html

United States Environmental Protection Agency: http://www.epa.gov/espp/

Office of Protected Resources: http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/pr/laws/esa.htm


Databases:

Kid’s InfoBits: Endangered Species

Opposing Viewpoint Resource Center: Endangered Species


For Further Reading:

Y Hia
Hiaasen, Carl
Hoot

Alfred A. Knopf, 2002

Summary: After moving from Montana to Florida, Roy Eberhardt befriends Mullet Fingers, a runaway boy who is trying to stop the building of a pancake house on land populated by borrowing owls.


 

J DiC
DiCamillo, Kate
Tiger Rising
Candlewick, 2001


Summary: Rob, who passes the time in his rural Florida community by
wood carving, is drawn by his spunky but angry friend
Sistine into a plan to free a caged tiger.

J Tho
Thomas, Rob
Green Thumb
Simon & Schuster, 1999


Summary: While spending the summer in the Amazon rain forest of
Brazil doing botanical research, thirteen-year-old Grady
discovers a secret language used by the trees to
communicate with each other and falls afoul of the
dictatorial Dr. Carter, whose motives seem questionable.

Y DeF
Defelice, Cynthia C.
Lostman's River
Macmillan, 1994


Summary: In the early 1900s, thirteen-year-old Tyler encounters
vicious hunters whose actions threaten to destroy the
Everglades ecosystem, and as a result joins the battle to
protect that fragile environment.

book cover

Y Her
Ehrenhaft, Daniel
The Last Dog on Earth
Delacorte, 2003


Summary: Logan Moore hates everyone except Jack, the mangy mutt he adopts and trains. Their bond is threatened by the emergence of a deadly and contagious canine disease.

 

Y Kin
Kindl, Patrice
Owl in Love
Houghton Mifflin, 1993


Summary: A fourteen-year-old girl, who can transform into an owl,
has a crush on her science teacher which leads her into
interesting new relationships with both humans and owls.

Y Kla
Klass, David.
California Blue
Scholastic, 1994


Summary: When seventeen-year-old John Rodgers discovers a new
sub-species of butterfly which may necessitate closing the
mill where his dying father works, they find themselves on
opposite sides of the environmental conflict.

JB Irw
Boekhoff, P.M.
Steve Irwin
Kidhaven, 2004


Summary: Profiles Steve Irwin, a herpetologist, television personality,
and movie star whose concern for the natural environment and animals led him to fame as the "Crocodile Hunter."

book coverJ 333.72 Suz
Suzuki, David
You Are the Earth: From Dinosaur Breath to Pizza From Dirt
Greystone, 1999

Summary: Explores our natural connection to the earth and its four elements, air, water, soil, and fire, underlining the
importance of biodiversity and respect for the
environment.

 

J 577 Our
Our Environment
Time-Life Books, 1999


Summary: Describes the world's diverse habitats and the close relationships between plants and animals, including humans, who must share those habitats.

J 577 Nee
Needham, Bobbe
Ecology Crafts for Kids: 50 Great Ways to Make Friends With Planet Earth
Sterling, 1998


Summary: Provides instructions for a variety of craft activities using recycled materials or items from nature and teaching a respect for the environment.

J 591.518 Kra
Krautwurst, Terry
Night Science for Kids: Exploring the World After Dark
Lark Books, 2003


Summary: Provides ideas and activities for discovering what changes in the world after dark, including the arrival of moths and owls, fog, and the stars.

J 598.97 Sat
Sattler, Helen Roney
The Book of North American Owls
Clarion Books, 1995


Summary: Provides general information on the behavior of owls and specific information about the physical characteristics and behavior of the twenty-one North American species.

Y 363.7 Aas
Aaseng, Nathan
Jobs vs. the Environment: Can We Save Both?
Enslow, 1994


Summary: Carefully examines the jobs v. environment issue.

book coverY 628.078 Gar
Gardner, Robert
Science Projects About the Environment and Ecology
Enslow, 1999


Summary: Presents experiments and projects suitable for science fairs, dealing with such aspects of the environment and ecology as the atmosphere, soil, water, plants, animals, and climate.

 

 

 


Return to top of page
Home | Kid's Catalog | Reading Room | Business Page | Your Account
Search+ | Library Catalog | Databases | Use the Library
Government Documents | Subject Areas | Pathfinders | Locations | Programs
Services | About the Library | Genealogy | Support the Library
Contact Us | Sitemap

Bobby WorldWide Approved 508
This page is Bobby Approved

Chattanooga-Hamilton County Bicentennial Library
Chattanooga, Tennessee
© 2007