Chattanooga-Hamilton County Bicentennial Library Skip Navigation

Library logo

"Whatever the cost of our libraries, the price is cheap compared to that of an ignorant nation."

- Walter Cronkite

navigation Account Information Business Page Reading Room Kids Catalog On Demand books, CDs and movies Homepage
Search Catalog
Search Catalog & Magazine Articles
Databases
Use the Library
Locations

Subject Areas

Programs
Genealogy
Government

Pathfinders

Additional Services

About the Library

Support the Library
Contact Us
Sitemap
Listed by Subject
Auto Reference Center
Children's Resources
EbscoHost Research Database
Local Information
Photo Database
Practice Tests - Learning Express
Rosetta Stone
Tennessee Electronic Library
How To Find It With a Call Number
Checking Out Books
On Demand/Rental
Computers
Library Cards
Interlibrary Loan Info
Information by Mail & Fax
Please Take Our SURVEY
Downtown
Eastgate
Northgate
Ooltewah-Collegedale
South Chattanooga
Creative Discovery Museum
Business,
Science & Technology

Children's
Fine Arts
Local History
Reference
Calendar of Events
Anime
Children's Programs
Cinema @ the Library
Genealogy Classes
Please Take Our SURVEY
City of Chattanooga
Hamilton County
Tennessee
U.S Government
U.S. Passports
Multimedia Lists
Book Lists
Helpful Websites
Computers
Notary Service
Passports
Meeting Rooms
Information by Mail & Fax
Please Take Our SURVEY
Administration
Calendar of Events
Contact Us
Employment
FAQ
Hours
Library Policies
Please Take Our SURVEY
Used Book Sales
Friends of the Library
Gifts & Donations
Memorial Books
Endowment Fund
Please Take Our SURVEY
Calendar of Events Please Take Our Survey! Database Spotlight

Family Stories Month

November is Family Stories Month.

Celebrate by reading with your family!

   
Database Searches:

Check out these databases on the library’s homepage: http://www.lib.chattanooga.gov/ - Click on Databases

  Fiction     What Do I Read Next?

What Do I Read Next? includes over 115,000 recommended titles, more than 62,500 plot summaries, and awards information from 561 awards, all to help users uncover new reading adventures, find long-remembered favorites, and discover award-winning titles. Search by genre, subject, author, title, series, and more. A monthly highlights page allows the user to see selections of award winners, upcoming titles, and titles that revolve around different subjects each month.

  Elementary School   NoveList K-8

A fantastic resource for teachers, parents, and students alike. This junior version of Novelist, intended for students from kindergarten to grade 8, features detailed subject headings as well as booklists by theme and grade level.

 Websites You May Want to Visit:

  Books to check out:

20th Century Children's Book TreasuryJS-C Twe
The 20th Century Children’s Book Treasury.
Random House, 1998.  

 

Family Read-Aloud Christmas TreasuryJ 394.268 Fam
The Family Read-Aloud Christmas Treasury.
Little Brown, 1989.

Silly and SillierJ 398.2 Sie
Sierra, Judy. 
Silly and Sillier: Read Aloud Tales from Around the World
.  
Knopf, 2002.

Her StoriesJ 398.2082 Ham
Hamilton, Virginia.
Her Stories: African American Folktales, Fairy Tales, and True Tales.
Blue Sky, 1995.

 

Thanks & Giving All Year LongJ 810.8 Tha
Thanks & Giving All Year Long.
Simon & Schuster, 2004.

 

A Call to Character170 Cal
A Call to Character: a Family Treasury of Stories, Poems, Plays, Proverbs,  and Fables to Guide the Development of Values for You and Your Children.
HarperCollins, 1995.

 

Baby Read-Aloud Basics372.4 Bla
Blakemore, Caroline. 
Baby Read-Aloud Basics
.
AMACOM, 2006.

The Read-Aloud Handbook372.6 Tre
Trelease, Jim.
The Read-Aloud Handbook
.
Penguin, 2001.

 

New Handbook for Storytellers372.642 Bau
Bauer, Caroline Feller.
Caroline Feller Bauer’s New Handbook for Storytellers
.  
ALA, 1993.

Good Books Lately374.22 Moo
Moore, Ellen.
Good Books Lately: the One-Stop Resource 
for Book Groups and Other Greedy Readers
. 
St. Martin’s Griffin, 2004.


Return to top of page
Home | Kid's Catalog | Reading Room | Business Page | Your Account
Search+ | Library Catalog | Databases | Use the Library
Government Documents | Subject Areas | Pathfinders | Locations | Programs
Services | About the Library | Genealogy | Support the Library
Contact Us | Sitemap

Bobby WorldWide Approved 508
This page is Bobby Approved

Chattanooga-Hamilton County Bicentennial Library
Chattanooga, Tennessee
© 2007