Chattanooga-Hamilton County Bicentennial Library Skip Navigation

Library logo

"Whatever the cost of our libraries, the price is cheap compared to that of an ignorant nation."

- Walter Cronkite

navigation Account Information Business Page Reading Room Kids Catalog On Demand books, CDs and movies Homepage
Search Catalog
Search Catalog & Magazine Articles
Databases
Use the Library
Locations

Subject Areas

Programs
Genealogy
Government

Pathfinders

Additional Services

About the Library

Support the Library
Contact Us
Sitemap
Listed by Subject
Auto Reference Center
Children's Resources
EbscoHost Research Database
Local Information
Photo Database
Practice Tests - Learning Express
Rosetta Stone
Tennessee Electronic Library
How To Find It With a Call Number
Checking Out Books
On Demand/Rental
Computers
Library Cards
Interlibrary Loan Info
Information by Mail & Fax
Please Take Our SURVEY
Downtown
Eastgate
Northgate
Ooltewah-Collegedale
South Chattanooga
Creative Discovery Museum
Business,
Science & Technology

Children's
Fine Arts
Local History
Reference
Calendar of Events
Anime
Children's Programs
Cinema @ the Library
Genealogy Classes
Please Take Our SURVEY
City of Chattanooga
Hamilton County
Tennessee
U.S Government
U.S. Passports
Multimedia Lists
Book Lists
Helpful Websites
Computers
Notary Service
Passports
Meeting Rooms
Information by Mail & Fax
Please Take Our SURVEY
Administration
Calendar of Events
Contact Us
Employment
FAQ
Hours
Library Policies
Please Take Our SURVEY
Used Book Sales
Friends of the Library
Gifts & Donations
Memorial Books
Endowment Fund
Please Take Our SURVEY
Calendar of Events Please Take Our Survey! Database Spotlight

SEPTEMBER
is time for
Safety Month logo
College Football
Books, DVDs and Videos:

Here are a few of the many titles about College Football in the library's collection.

(Be sure to click " EXIT " in the upper right hand corner when you are finished browsing a book record to return to this list.)

616.0252 Ame 796.3326 Dun
Dunnavant, Keith.
The Missing Ring : how Bear Bryant and the 1966 Alabama Crimson Tide were denied college football's most elusive prize.

"Very few institutions in American sports can match the enduring excellence of the University of Alabama football program. Across a wide swath of the last century, the tradition-rich Crimson Tide has claimed twelve national championships, captured twenty-five conference titles, finished thirty-four times among the country's top ten, and played in fifty-three bowl games." "Especially dominant during the era of the legendary Paul "Bear" Bryant, the larger-than-life figure who towered over the landscape like no man before or since, Alabama entered the 1966 season with the chance to become the first college football team to win three consecutive national championships." "The Missing Ring is the story of the one that got away, the one that haunts Alabama fans still, and native Alabamian Keith Dunnavant takes readers deep inside the Crimson Tide program during a more innocent time, before widespread telecasting, before scholarship limitations, before end-zone dances." "Meticulously revealing the strategies, tactics, and personal dramas that bring the overachieving boys of 1966 to life, Dunnavant's insightful, anecdotally rich narrative shows how Bryant molded a diverse group of young men into a powerful force that overcame various obstacles to achieve perfection in an imperfect world." "Set against the backdrop of the civil rights movement, the still-escalating Vietnam War, and a world and a sport teetering on the brink of change in a variety of ways, The Missing Ring tells an important story about the collision between football and culture. Ultimately, it is this clash that produces the Crimson Tide's most implacable foe, enabling the greatest injustice in college football history."--BOOK JACKET.

363.1926 Rob 796.3326 Pon
Pont, Sally
Fields of honor : the golden age of college football and the men who created it., 2001.

After World War II, a small group of men returned to Ohio--some to coach football and some to play, the GI Bill paying their way. At Miami University of Ohio, these men, united in the belief that playing football could improve character, created the modern game of football. Sid Gillman, the originating strategist, coached Ara Parseghian and Paul Dietzel; Woody Hayes coached Bo Schembechler, Carm Cozza, and John Pont; John Pont coached Bill Mallory; Bo Schembechler coached Bill Mallory's sons. With her unique access as John Pont's niece and daughter of fabled Yale coach Richard Pont, Sally Pont beautifully portrays the interconnections, affections, rivalries, innovations, weaknesses, and strengths of these men. Tracing the game from its brawling roots to its balletic peaks, Fields of Honor is the inspiring and entertaining history of the founding families of America's most popular game in a time when strategy and sportsmanship ruled the gridiron.

616.0252 Ame 796.3326 Whi
Whittingham, Richard, 1939-
Rites of autumn : the story of college football , 1992.

Written by a respected sportswriter and boasting more than 200 photos,
this is a glorious portrait of the great teams, players,
plays and coaches in college football.

Ref 616.9803 Wor B Ohe
Lewis, Michael (Michael M.)
The blind side : evolution of a game

"The young man at the center of this story will one day be among the most highly paid athletes in the National Football League. When we first meet him, he is one of thirteen children by a mother addicted to crack; he does not know his real name, his father, his birthday, or any of the things a child might learn in school - such as, say, how to read or write. Nor has he ever touched a football." "What changes? He takes up football, and school, after a rich, Evangelical, Republican family plucks him from the mean streets. Their love is the first great force that alters the world's perception of the boy, whom they adopt. The second force is the evolution of professional football itself into a game where the quarterback must be protected at any cost. Our protagonist turns out to be the priceless combination of size, speed, and agility necessary to guard the quarterback's greatest vulnerability: his blind side."--BOOK JACKET.

629.283 Pea JB Man
Mattern, Joanne, 1963-.
Peyton Manning

From the day he was born, Peyton Manning was all about football. His father, Archie Manning, was one of the NFLs star quarterbacks, and Peyton and his brothers dreamed of playing in the NFL as well. For a while, it seemed like nothing would prevent the Manning brothers from achieving their dream of playing football together. However, things did not go exactly as they planned. Although Peyton has had many advantages, his life has also included sadness and disappointment. In this new book for young adults, readers will find out how he overcame these challenges and went on to become one of the most famous and popular quarterbacks in both his college career and in the NFL. They will also learn why Peyton is a terrific role model, helping others through his PeyBack Foundation. Read all about Peyton Manning, a star both on and off the field!

640.289 Heb B Sta
Claerbaut, David.
Bart Starr : when leadership mattered

This book reveals all the details of Starr's improbable rise to stardom, exploring his relationship with Lombardi and his guidance of the Packers from a downtrodden franchise to five-time World Champions to two-time Super Bowl winners

DVD 629.28 Rul 796.3326 ESP
ESPN college football encyclopedia , 2005
.

The most comprehensive reference book ever assembled on the history of college football From South Bend, Indiana, to Lincoln, Nebraska, Palo Alto, California, to Baton Rouge, Louisiana, Ann Arbor, Michigan, to Tallahassee, Florida, college football attracts the most dedicated fans in all of sports. This book is their Bible, a rich and exhaustive reference guide to the games history, tradition, and lore.

Video 99:46 DVD 796.332 Bra
Bragging rites [videorecording] : the Carolina-Clemson rivalry / Big Thursday Productions.

The Carolina-Clemson Rivalry occupies a unique place in South Carolina culture. Its name, familiar to every South Carolina native, brings to mind images of heroes, villains, friends, foes, drama, humor, shame, and pride. South Carolina filmmakers Jeff Sumerel and Chris White have brought together past players, coaches, fans, and scholars from very diverse backgrounds to tell the story of the "Carolina-Clemson Game." Lyrical in story line, with a wealth of original and archival imagery, BRAGGING RITES tells the history of the rivalry through the actual and dramatized words of many of those people who have been part of the story.

Vidoe 01:155 Video 791.4372 Hor
Horse feathers [videorecording] / Paramount Publix Corporation.

Imagine Groucho as the president of a college and Harpo and Chico as football players. It doesn't get much wackier than this. Horse feathers, indeed. Groucho is hilarious to watch as a hip professor. He's at his most rebellious singing "Whatever it is, I'm against it." Thelma Todd does some of her best vamping to help fix the big football game, which Harpo and Chico are supposed to throw. Naturally, the brothers have other ideas. For sheer laughter, this has to rate almost as high as Duck Soup, with the memorable speakeasy sequence, and the funniest football finale of all time, complete with banana peels and a chariot. --Bill Desowitz

 

To find more books, DVDs, or videos on College Football, go to the Library Catalog, Keyword Search: College Football

Databases:

The library has databases with information about College Football.

EBSCOhost: MasterFILE Premier: Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,100 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 650 full text reference books, 84,074 biographies, 86,135 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily.

InfoTrac OneFile Subject Guide Search: A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Websites:

Want to find web sites about College Football?

NCAA Football: Official site of NCAA Football, offering recent news, team standings, photo gallery, and trivia.

College Football Research Center: Home of the Billingsley Report on Major College Football And proud member of The Bowl Championship Series.

Rivals.com Football: Rivals.com has been serving serious sports fans since May 2001. Powered by more than 300 writers, reporters and publishers at the local level and by more than 85 employees at its Brentwood, Tenn., headquarters, Rivals.com is the most respected name in team-specific college sports coverage and the country's No. 1 authority on college football and basketball recruiting.

College Football Hall of Fame: Official site of the College Football Hall of Fame located in South Bend, Indiana.

NCAA Football News: Including stats, scores, standings, fantasy football, transactions, injury reports, schedules, team and player news.

NCAA Sports.com: Official NCAA site for men's and women's sports. Features news, standings, schedules, tickets for tournaments, and more.

College Football Trivia: From the Sugar Bowl to the Rose Bowl, Kidzworld checks out college football bowl game facts and records.


Return to top of page
Home | Kid's Catalog | Reading Room | Business Page | Your Account
Search+ | Library Catalog | Databases | Use the Library
Government Documents | Subject Areas | Pathfinders | Locations | Programs
Services | About the Library | Genealogy | Support the Library
Contact Us | Sitemap

Bobby WorldWide Approved 508
This page is Bobby Approved

Chattanooga-Hamilton County Bicentennial Library
Chattanooga, Tennessee
© 2007