Chattanooga-Hamilton County Bicentennial LibrarySkip Navigation
Library logo

"Whatever the cost of our libraries, the price is cheap compared to that of an ignorant nation."

- Walter Cronkite

navigation Account Information About Us Library Events Local History Kids Catalog Teen Stack On Demand books, CDs and movies Homepage
Search Catalog

Search Catalog & Magazine Articles

Databases

Media Download

Use the Library

Locations

Subject Areas

Programs

Genealogy

Government

Pathfinders

More Services

About Us

Support Us

Contact Us

Sitemap

Question MarkCan't Find What You Need?
Listed by Subject
Auto Reference Center
Children's Resources
EbscoHost Research Database
Local Information
Photo Database
Practice Tests - Learning Express
Mango Languages
Tennessee Electronic Library
Intro to eAudio Use
NetLibrary
Overdrive
How To Find It With a Call Number
Checking Out Books
On Demand/Rental
Computers
Library Cards
Interlibrary Loan Info
Information by Mail & Fax
Please Take Our SURVEY
Maps
Downtown
Eastgate
Northgate
Ooltewah-Collegedale
South Chattanooga
Creative Discovery Museum
Business,
Science & Technology

Children's
Fine Arts
Local History
Reference
Calendar of Events
Anime
Children's Programs
Cinema @ the Library
Genealogy Classes
Learning Resource Center
Teen Programs
WISE
Please Take Our SURVEY
City of Chattanooga
Hamilton County
Tennessee
U.S Government
U.S. Passports
Reading Room
Business Page
Multimedia Lists
Book Lists
Helpful Websites
Computers
Notary Service
Passports
Meeting Rooms
Information by Mail & Fax
Please Take Our SURVEY
Administration
Calendar of Events
Contact Us
Employment
FAQ
Hours
Library Policies
Please Take Our SURVEY
Used Book Sales
Friends of the Library
Gifts & Donations
Memorial Books
Endowment Fund
Please Take Our SURVEY
Hours Calendar of Events Please Take Our Survey! Database Spotlight Contact Us

Online Tutorials by Subject

The sites listed below contain free self-paced tutorials available through the Internet. We have purchased several for library patrons; others are a free will contribution through technology. However, please be aware that some owners of free sites may offer valuable tools in order to profit from advertising. Some of these materials are still very useful and they are included here with notes. Sites that mix free and fee-based "courses" are also included.

Tutorials Directory
Academic
Arts & Crafts
Basic Computer & Internet Info
Computer Software

Computer Programming
GED Study

Foreign Languages
Health & Lifestyle
Home & Garden

Tutorials Directory

Vocational Information Center - Online Tutorial Resources - a comprehensive compilation by a former teacher.
http://www.khake.com/page67.html

Academic

Academic Skills Resources, The Learning Centre, University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia - Many outlines covering basic academic skills and including links to further studies and information.

Free-Ed.Net, Free Education on the Internet - Complete courses and tutorials for more than 120 different vocational and academic disciplines. Study programs for homeschooling, advanced college prep, GED, technical careers, lifelong learning, and much, much more.

Learning Express Library - take practice tests for SAT, ACT, career certifications, and others. If you are a library member, this is accessible at home through the website. Non-members may use this resource at any library location. Click Databases>Take Practice Tests at http://www.lib.chattanooga.gov . Registration is required.

MIT Open Courseware -Written course materials for many of MIT's real classes are available here free of charge.
http://ocw.mit.edu/index.html

Arts & Crafts

Better Homes & Gardens - Family & Crafts category. Scroll down to specific topics and select your needs.
http://www.bhg.com/bhg/family/index.jhtml

Basic Computer & Internet Information

All the Basics of Personal Computers – Free-Ed site for beginning computer users
http://www.free-ed.net/free-ed/MiscTech/PCRepair/IdiotPC.asp

Dynamic Zone FX.com – Searching the Internet, very teacher and student oriented
http://www.dzfx.com/workshops/list/2/Advanced_Searching_Techniques

Free Skills – the free tutorials are always further down the page even on the submenus and content pages. Beware of advertisements – look for the fine print note (i.e. “Ads by Gooooooogle”) to weed these out. Very good fee-based material also.
http://tutorials.freeskills.com/free-internet-tutorials.html

Learn That/ Computers – short articles about how to buy or build a computer, use the current operating systems. Changes over time; check to see what’s there now – http://www.learnthat.com/computers/category-3

Computer Software

Free Skills - the free tutorials are always further down the page even on the submenus and content pages. Beware of advertisements – look for the fine print note (i.e. “Ads by Gooooooogle”) to weed these out. Very good fee-based material also.
http://tutorials.freeskills.com/

Tutorialized.com – searchable by “all” or specific programs. Tutorials are very short and single task-oriented, not for beginners. Includes operating systems as well as all other types of software. Beware of advertisements labeled as such.
http://www.tutorialized.com/

Photoshop Support – not intended for beginners, task-oriented, very comprehensive and searchable.
http://www.photoshopsupport.com/

TutorViaComputer – MS Word, MS Excel, RealSlideShow, Paint Shop Pro, Scalable SQL, Flash 5
http://www.baycongroup.com/index.htm

Dynamic Zone FX.com – Word, Photoshop, Outlook, Excel, Inspiration, Dreamweaver, Windows XP, Powerpoint, Must scan sub-menus for task-oriented instructions.
http://www.dzfx.com/workshops/list/

Fundamentals of Microsoft Office – Brief tutorials on the major Microsoft programs.
http://www.free-ed.net/free-ed/InfoTech/informit/ITLC02.asp

Computer Programming

Free-Ed.Net, Information Technology - Beginning level courses in most common programming languages including data processing and website concentrations.

HTML Goodies - Started by a PhD student in 1992, now owned and operated by Jupitermedia. Contains a full range of tutorials for website design and development, each designed to take 6-7 days to complete. Very encouraging language. "Primers" are basic enough for extreme beginners.
http://www.htmlgoodies.com/

W3 Schools - Developed by Refsnes Data, a Norwegian company (not the W3C, or World Wide Web Consortium). Very good exercises and quizes, covering most aspects of website design and development.
http://www.w3schools.com/

Free Skills - the free tutorials are always further down the page, even on the submenus and content pages. Contains a full array of programming languages. Beware of advertisements – look for the fine print note (Ads by . . . .) to identify these. Very good fee-based material in a separate section of the website.
http://tutorials.freeskills.com/

Web Developer's Notes - These are very useful basic tutorials for web development. The numerous advertisement blocks are identified as such throughout every section.
http://www.webdevelopersnotes.com/

 

GED Study

Free-Ed.Net, Free Education on the Internet - Complete courses and tutorials for more than 120 different vocational and academic disciplines. Study programs for homeschooling, advanced college prep, GED, technical careers, lifelong learning, and much, much more.

Learning Express Library - take practice tests for the GED. If you are a library member, this is accessible at home through the website. Non-members may use this resource at any library location. Click Databases>Take Practice Tests at http://www.lib.chattanooga.gov . Registration is required.

Foreign Languages

Learn Spanish - a free online tutorial - very detailed, but basic audio tutorial with lots of examples by native speakers.
http://www.studyspanish.com/freesite.htm

Spanish - Learn It Online - This is an online resource center for Spanish learners. It has great verb conjugation drills and many links to other online resources.
http://www.spaleon.com/index.php

Mango Languages - A new tutorial that is available for library card members. Features nine languages.
http://www.mangolanguages.com

Peace Corps' World Wise Schools -
http://www.peacecorps.gov/wws/multimedia/language/

FSI - published by the State Department
http://www.fsi-language-courses.com

Health & Lifestyle

Health Care Education Supersite – A subsite of Free-Ed.Net. Very good pre-study for post-secondary or technical school education as well as personal knowledge..
http://www.free-ed.net/free-ed/HealthCare/default.asp

Home & Garden

Easy2DIY.com – Easy to Do It Yourself – Home improvement tutorials in a huge number of categories. Locate your needs by Category, Location, or Task and then click the Tutorials tab.
http://www.easy2diy.com/index.asp

 



¿En español?


Pocket WatchWhat are our hours?


Map Where are we located?


Mango Languages
Information Page

David Clapp
Director's Remarks Blog: Add Your Comments!


Buying Books?
2 Ways To Help!
Alibris linkCHCBL Bookstore link

BBB Video Series

Cover of a passport
See Instructions!

Internet Safety
Read Up On

Internet Safety

Miller Center of Public Affairs
Miller Center of Public Affairs

United Way's Project Ready For School

Online Book Clubs